Getting to know local actor Tavante Conyers

Che Holloway
6 min readMay 16, 2022

--

In this article we turn our attention to an actor from Rochester, New York by the name of Tavante Conyers. I asked Tavante a series of questions, below you can find our Q and A.

Tell us a little about yourself, where your from, grew up, what H.S./College you attended, etc.

I am just a humble hard working young black man that grew up not having much as a kid, so my intentions is to work extremely hard to get what I want. I love being a positive role model for not just people living in poverty but for people who don’t believe in having hope that someday you will be able to smile again from crying. I have gotten many opportunities so far in my acting career but I have to say that I am no where close to where I want to be in life as of yet because there is still so much work to be put in so that I can master the craft. I was born in South Carolina, I don’t not actually remember anything because I was really young.

I moved to Rochester New York along with my mother and two older brothers. Money was always a problem especially with my mother being a single parent raising three kids on her own so unfortunately the neighborhoods that we lived in weren’t always the best but my mother always managed to make it happen for all of us. As kid growing up I wanted to become a Magician and a police officer. As a teenager I wanted to be a basketball player. As years went by I wanted to have my own clothing line as well as become a music artist. It’s funny how life works because in my career now as an actor I can always get a chance to play a role as all of those creative talents either on screen or on stage. I attended Frederick Douglass High School which is now (Northeast College Preparatory).

I struggled all through high school from always wanting being a class clown, not paying attention in class and just worrying about the wrong things. I was the person who showed up to school every single day but do not show up to every single class. After getting kicked out of school for 30 days I got sent to another school for students that was over age and under credited. When I went there I made a choice to stop doing what I am doing and really pay attention. So that’s what I did and I graduated with tears in my eyes because looking at my mother being so proud of me I could not help it. The same year I graduated from high school I enrolled in ( Monroe community college ) to major in graphic design. Unfortunately that did not work out. I wanted to get a job so that I can have money to get things situated.

What inspired you to get into acting? Early experiences worth sharing?

What got me into acting was comedy. I used to create comedy skits on my own playing as different characters using different voices. I then decided to try out stand up comedy which was so fun and scary at the same time. It’s been a time where I walked off stage because I ran out of jokes during a open mic performance. Also I told people to come watch me perform and I just frozed up from nerves. I love to challenge myself all the time even know it’s risky that’s just the way I am and always will be. I am a huge fan of watching all kinds of movies especially ones that tell stories. Denzel Washington is a person who inspires not just as a master of his craft of acting but just as a humble human being that works hards, takes care of his family, helps other people with opportunities etc. quick note I believe I seen every single of his films.

Talk about a time where you have faced adversity/conflict and have triumphed.

So I struggle with anxiety and worrying a lot about things that are out of my control but also things that are in my control. Sometimes it’s complicated to act upon that’s why I always try to think positive. It may sound weird but I get emotional when I have visions about the future because I know that some day I will be happy.

What do you believe sets you apart from other actors in the industry?

I believe what separates me apart from other actors is taking on risk believing that it’s always something good coming out of every single opportunity doesn’t matter if it is little major. You will always learn from experience. I don’t want to be like anyone else even know I admire people but I mean I feel like I am me for a reason and I am loving it to the fullest.

Do you have other interests or hobbies?

I enjoy listening to many different kinds of music to either calm me or just motivate me. I enjoy boxing to try and get in shape but dieting is the biggest thing that gets to me. I still watching basketball once in a while. I haven’t played in a while. I enjoy reading sometimes. I enjoy rolling skating from time to time. I like to play ping pong but it’s been a very long time since I played but I am still very good at it. I am interested in learning how to speak multiple languages, multiple accents, how to dance, how to sing, how to play multiple instruments and swim.

Any projects you have out or or currently working on?

I recently did 2 short films a few months ago called “ wyld chyld and “ Who killed me” a vampire film I did in the summer called “ “ Bloodfly “. I am working on a Batman teaser film and I am also in the process of working in a theater play for the first time.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I would like to see myself working as a full time actor making a living off of it. I’m speaking all of this into existence. I will be a lot more experienced as a versatile actor who can perform great in all different kinds of roles. Most importantly I will be very happy in my personal life and also in my career.

What advice can you give in regards to individuals looking to enter your line of work?

The advice I love to give to artist who wants to become a actor is do not be afraid to take risk, always believe, be kind to people, work extremely hard and never give up. Also do not try and follow anyone else journey because you are not them and they are not you so with that being said be much better.

How can we follow along in your journey? YouTube? Social media? Sites?

You can follow me on Instagram @Tavante_Conyers, on FACEBOOK @Tavante Conyers on YouTube @Tavante Conyers.

--

--

Che Holloway

SAG-AFTRA Actor/Writer Star of Dark Justice Show now streaming on Amazon Prime www.darkjusticeshow.com /FB: Che Holloway Follow me on IG: @che_holloway5