Getting To Know MTV Wild N Out’s Rasika Mathur, An Exceptional Artist With A Kind and Marvelous Spirit

Che Holloway
4 min readOct 5, 2018

--

Photo By: Briana Grace

In this highlight we turn attention to MTV Wild N Out’s Rasika Mathur. I was fortunate enough to meet Rasika on a couple of occasions and everytime I was met with a graceful, lighthearted, positive, contagious energy that really resonated with me. Rasika has achieved alot, but there is much more to come from this beautiful spirit thats worth keeping an eye and ear out for! I asked Rasika a series of questions, here is what we discussed:

Tell us a little about yourself, where your from, grew up, what H.S./College you attended, etc.

I was born in Ottawa, Canada. Raised in Houston, TX ~ attended Elsik High School (so did Beyoncé, after me), went to UT Austin, and then Chicago and then LA.

What inspired you to be an awesome entertainer? Early experiences worth sharing?

Aww you’re too kind. Either way, I started out as an improv comedian but I became a Social Media Model with the re-release of Instagram. Now it’s filters filters filters all day.

What do you believe sets you apart from other people in the world of entertainment?

My poor, pathetic, under dogged determination , almost to a delusion, to believe I can achieve my goal ~ to be on a long running, Emmy Award-Winning Ensemble Sitcom. Other people in this town aren’t delusional, are they?

Do you have any other interests or hobbies?

I enjoy Hiking & Coyote Tracking, Netflix & Chilling, Yoga & Meditating and sending my friends funny Snaps. Oh my Gosh. I have to capitalize Snaps.

Any projects you have out or currently working on?

I’m working with fellow writer Gwendolyn Alley on a philosophical performance piece on Climate Change based on my personal experience with the Thomas Fire last December. We’re performing that October 6 at the Lobrero Theater in Santa Barbara. I am playing the role of “Suffragette” in Ghostwalk, an interactive local theater production out of Santa Paula Theater Center. And I’ll have a don’t-blink-moment in a new series for NBC called Abby’s, starring some amazing people, among them Natalie Morales & Neil Flynn, so look for that!

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

You interviewing me on how it’s going during my stint on that long running, Emmy Award-Winning Ensemble Sitcom. And I’d like to have that whole “no water left for thirsty wild animals” problem figured out.

Walk us through the moment where you found out you were cast in MTV’s Wildn Out, what were you feeling? What did you tell yourself?

The moment I found out doesn’t stand out in my mind. What does is the day I rapped and improvised for producers and Nick. And I just knew I impressed them. Then there was a 3rd round and they wanted to see how well we could improvise. Well, I got up there with crazy ass Spanky Hayes and I don’t know what he was doing, but in Improv, it’s all about justifying your partner’s crazy choices, so I did, and again, I knew I’d done well. Those confident feelings paid off! I’ll tell you, the times you’re confident, you can almost feel when you’re going to book. And now I’m learning, after you’re done showing your goods, you leave it on the field and walk away.

Talk about a time where you faced adversity and triumphed.

I’ll just show you. (click here)

Photography by: Grant Ball

What advice can you give to aspiring entertainers?

This shit is hard! It doesn’t have to be! But my Journey happens to be damn challenging. So my sanity has to come first. Meditation comes first. Sleep is a blessing and food is my King.

How can we follow along in your journey? Social media?

Instagram: @jalapenopopper2012

Twitter: @RasiRas

Snap: rasikam4

--

--

Che Holloway

SAG-AFTRA Actor/Writer Star of Dark Justice Show now streaming on Amazon Prime www.darkjusticeshow.com /FB: Che Holloway Follow me on IG: @che_holloway5