Getting To Know Olivia Meyer; A Masterful Musician And Advocate For The Arts

Che Holloway
4 min readSep 5, 2018

--

In this highlight we turn our attention to Olivia Meyer, a skilled artist and advocate for musicians. I asked Olivia a series of questions, here is what was discussed;

Tell us a little about yourself, where your from, grew up, what H.S./College you attended etc.

I was born and raised in the city of Rochester, NY. I went to grade school at School of the Arts with a major in Instrumental Music. After graduating from high school I Attended Berklee College of Music to study jazz saxophone performance and music business. I am currently a Brand, Sales and Marketing Associate at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City.

What inspired you to be in the music industry? Early experiences worth sharing?

My initial inspiration and introduction to the music industry was through my father, Paul Meyer. He played saxophone and ran a jazz radio station during his college years. He was the first person to formally introduce me to jazz music. I immediately fell in love. He gave me his tenor saxophone and that was it for me. This was a crucial foundation of my relationship with him. He would take me to the Rochester Public Library weekly and there, we would check out the maximum number of CD’s allowed and listen to them together. These became some of my greatest memories from my childhood and the earliest building blocks for my career.

Talk about a time where you have faced adversity/conflict and have triumphed.

I face adversity daily being a woman. Trying to build a career in an industry that’s male dominated is a challenge. I try not to internalize what other people might think about me based off of how they treat me and trust in my intellect and what I have to offer. There have been many times in my career where I have overcome an obstacle of this nature and there will be many times in the future that I will have to do the same. It’s hard to pinpoint which triumph means the most because they’re all important to my growth as an artist and business person.

My mother, Heidi Zimmer-Meyer, is the President of a non-profit in Rochester and seeing her triumph during much more trying times for women, also helps give me the strength to know that it’s possible for us to be heard.

What do you believe sets you apart from other people in the Music scene?

My ego doesn’t govern what I do. I don’t do things for an immediate reaction from my peers and every move I make is for the music.

Do you have other interests or hobbies?

Studying food as medicine has been a great source of strength for me. I developed carpal tunnel syndrome in high school from over-practicing and this was a way to combat this injury while becoming a great source of joy for me.

Any projects you have out or currently working on?

Currently, I am working on building my brand Anti-inflammatory Kitchen, a lifestyle guide for fighting inflammation through the food we eat.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

I plan to build a company that fosters and brands musicians and creative thinkers alike in the music industry. I want to create a platform for musicians who make definitive statements and strive to make a positive impact with their art.

What advice can you give to aspiring musicians?

Don’t lose sight of WHY you are pursuing music as a career. Never lose your integrity. Never put success before substance.

How can we follow along in your journey? Social media?

You can follow me on instagram at my professional page @antiinflammatorykitchen as well as my personal page @liv.withlove

--

--

Che Holloway

SAG-AFTRA Actor/Writer Star of Dark Justice Show now streaming on Amazon Prime www.darkjusticeshow.com /FB: Che Holloway Follow me on IG: @che_holloway5