Getting to know Susan Gallagher; A rising star within the film industry

Che Holloway
5 min readFeb 12, 2019

In this highlight we turn our attention to Susan Gallagher, a gifted and hardworking actress within the industry. I asked Susan a series of questions, here is what we discussed;

Tell us a little about yourself, where your from, grew up, what H.S./College you attended, etc.

I was raised the youngest of four children in Gastonia, North Carolina, which is just outside of Charlotte. Growing up, I was a rebellious, wild child, cheerleader type, attending a couple of local colleges after high school, but graduating from the School of Hard Knocks. Once I got my life on the right track, I began studying acting in the early 90s with wonderful teachers and lived in Los Angeles off and on for several years. For the last 10 years, I’ve had the privilege of studying with renowned teacher, Zina Jasper in NYC and Dan Bright in Orlando.

What inspired you to be an artist? Early experiences worth sharing?

My Mother was a beautiful and talented jazz musician/singer and a natural born performer. Growing up I was around a lot of entertainers that would hold regular jam sessions in our home, which was great to be exposed to at an early age. My sister, Barbara, was like a child prodigy, eventually studying classical composition at Julliard School and my brother, Ed, would practice with his rock ‘n roll band in our formal living room. My mother also coached beauty pageant contestants and held numerous talent shows for us kids.

Still from Picking Back Up

Talk about a time where you have faced adversity/conflict and have triumphed.

I embraced my inner wild child at a young age which led me down some very dark roads, roads for which I certainly wasn’t ready! After getting her own life straightened out, my oldest sister, Lisa, and my Uncle helped me get mine together in 1985. Tragically, we lost my sister in a car wreck in 1994. An incredibly strong support system, along with the unwavering love of my husband and children, helped me get through that rough time in my life. I have never forgotten the help of so many good people and I try to give back the best I can.

Still from Picking Back Up

What do you believe sets you apart from other artists?

Besides being passionate about my work, I believe that my adaptability and boldness set me apart from other artists. My adaptability gives me the ability to embrace characters with qualities that are quite different from my own, without judgment. My boldness lets me approach characters with an open heart and fearless determination. Owning my own production company, Her Little Red Productions, has given me the courage to create and produce more work and continues to challenge me, forcing me to grow beyond my comfort zones by regularly taking risks. Her Little Red Productions is excited about our latest female driven project, “Portrait of a Woman at Dawn” which is written and directed by Cullen Douglas and starring Scottie Thompson and an all star cast/crew.

Still from QUEERING

Do you have any other interests or hobbies?

I adore my family and friends! And as I said, aside from all the attendant duties associated with my production company, I try to lend a hand to others who are struggling the way I once did. My kids would also say since they grew up and moved out, they’ve been replaced by rescue dogs!

Still from QUEERING

Are there any projects you have out or are currently working on?

Buckle up; it continues to be quite a ride! I enjoyed a recurring role last year in Season One of The Karate Kid’s new hit series, Cobra Kai, as Lynn, a sassy and very provocative homeless woman and opposite William Zabka. My fingers are crossed to see if Lynn returns in Season Two this spring! I recently worked on the film Walkway Joe as the ex-wife of Joe Haley, who is played by Oscar nominee, David Strathairn. It also stars The Walking Dead’s Jeffrey Dean Morgan. I received a Best Actress nomination from the California Women’s Film Festival for the Indie Film, Picking Back Up, where I starred as Anna Lakota, a mom spiraling downwards from addiction/alcoholism. I’ve had my biggest challenge and greatest honor to date in the film, I’ll Be Here For Awhile, due out in 2019. In it I portray a mom with Alzheimer’s opposite David Call (Sinner). Also, I’m recurring as a bitter and wheelchair bound character, Opal, in the upcoming TV series, Sons of Thunder, opposite Randal Reeder (Deadpool 2). Other Indie Films I’m in due out this year are “Beast Beast” by Danny Madden (Thunder Road) and produced by Alex Baldwin, Assassin 33 A.D. opposite Tony Award winner, Anthony Crivello, and several other short films and TV episodic work.

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

I definitely see myself working consistently on challenging roles with gifted actors. I’d love to have a grand baby but I don’t want to push my kids, that is, unless they’re reading this! But I’ll also settle for a guy named Oscar and a girl named Emmy.

Promo for Cobra Kai series

What advice can you give to aspiring artists/entertainers?

Be bold and brave. Grow a thick skin. Keep a good attitude and work your butt off!

How can we follow along in your journey? Social media?

Website: www.susangallagher.com Instagram: susangallagherjahna Twitter: @susanlgallagher

FB Official Page: Susan Gallagher

IMDB: Susan Gallagher

--

--

Che Holloway

SAG-AFTRA Actor/Writer Star of Dark Justice Show now streaming on Amazon Prime www.darkjusticeshow.com /FB: Che Holloway Follow me on IG: @che_holloway5