Introducing MF Skum, A Premier Breakout Musician Impacting The Music Industry One Move At A Time

Che Holloway
4 min readOct 10, 2018

--

In this highlight we turn our attention to James Kegler, an entertainer most commonly known by the alias, MF Skum. I asked MF Skum a series of questions, here is what we discussed:

Tell us a little about yourself, where you’re from, grew up, what H.S./College you attended, etc.

I was born and raised on the east side of Rochester, NY. I went to the School of the Arts here, which looking back played a massive role in the social circles I integrated into and the people I got close with that influenced me to become a musician. Funny thing is, I was a visual arts major. Graduated then attended MCC for Fine Arts, dropped out because I knew I wouldn’t be able to make a living off of a degree in Fine Arts. Went back for Cinema, dropped out. Went back for IT, status pending ha.

What inspired you to be an entertainer? Early experiences worth sharing?

My goal wasn’t and isn’t to be an entertainer really. More like a creative with the power of influence, a public figure if you will. Growing up, I would peep the many power complexes within society and this existence. Why did people want to become successful, and what do people do with that success. How did they figure out what to become successful in doing? So, I realized that celebrities/musicians have just as much influence as the politicians that run this system of living, if not more. Realized I was good at expressing myself musically, “good” at music. So that set the intention of becoming a musician, a successful musician.

Talk about a time where you have faced adversity/conflict and have triumphed.

Well, I recently just lost my best friend. He was the closest person to me on this earth. It highlighted a few things, made me more aware. It showed me how to deal with traumatic experiences in a healthy way, how to heal. Even from things from my distant past. It showed me the importance of appreciating unconditionally. Triumph comes a day at a time, you must be present at the moment to properly appreciate this human experience and everything that comes with it.

What do you believe sets you apart from other entertainers?

My intention in making music sets me apart, I believe. Indeed making music is for me and my peace of being, but I try to make music outside of Ego or my individual identity. I intend to make music that speaks to the spirit and the many paths of human experiences. I believe in music, each song is a journey. The beginning presents a “problem” or “issue”, maybe a struggle. By the end, a lesson, wisdom or solution completes the journey.

Do you have any other interests or hobbies?

Studying people, studying life.

Any projects you have out or are currently working on?

I’m currently working on a project called “The Tower” referencing the tarot card. Although lately, I’ve been capitalizing off of the singles I’ve dropped in the last year. I also dropped a 3 track EP called “Right Brain Music” about a month ago. Great sounds and experiences.

My latest music video is pretty wild. The track is called “Feelins”

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself being a paradigm to music and understanding of life. A very influential being.

What advice can you give to aspiring artists/entertainers?

My advice would be to reflect on how powerful music is, how much it influences human evolution and the world in general. To reflect on the messages, information, and energy that is being put out into the universe by their music and if that’s how they would want the world to be, truly.

How can we follow along in your journey? Social media?

I am MF SKUM on all platforms and social media.

Instagram.com/mfskum

Soundcloud.com/mf-skum

@MF SKUM on Youtube

@MFSKUM on Twitter

My music and content will reach you one way or another ha. Also, to follow and subscribe to Reel Dope, the media that will be doing all on my pivotal visuals as well as other artists.

@Reel_Dope on IG.

“I have always believed, and I still believe, that whatever good or bad fortune may come our way we can always give it meaning and transform it into something of value.”

-A Quote From Herman’s Hesse’s Siddhartha

--

--

Che Holloway

SAG-AFTRA Actor/Writer Star of Dark Justice Show now streaming on Amazon Prime www.darkjusticeshow.com /FB: Che Holloway Follow me on IG: @che_holloway5